You are here

IMPC Members

The IMPC is currently composed of 18 research institutions and 5 national funders

and is expected to increase membership as the programme moves forward. The Consortium's goal is to develop a plan to harness the major world-wide mouse research programmes and infrastructures in a strategic and coordinated effort to undertake a broad-based, systematic genome-wide phenotyping project of knockout mice in order to provide the wider research community with a long-lasting resource of mammalian gene function information.

IMPC Steering Committee

Institutional Members
Medical Research Council Harwell Steve Brown*, Ann-Marie Mallon
Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute Allan Bradley, Dave Adams, Karen Kennedy
Helmholtz-Zentrum Muenchen Martin Hrabe de Angelis
Toronto Centre for Phenogenomics Colin McKerlie
Institut Clinique de la Souris Yann Herault
Australian Phenomics Network Ed Bertram
RIKEN BioResource Center Yuichi Obata
CNR Monterotondo Glauco Tocchini-Valentini
MARC Nanjing University Xiang Gao
The Jackson Laboratory Bob Braun, Leah Rae Donahue, Karen Svenson, Steve Murray
The Davis, Toronto, Charles River and CHORI Consortium (DTCC) Kent Lloyd, Dave West
Korea Mouse Phenotype Consortium Je Kyung Seong
Bayor College of Medicine Monica Justice
National Laboratory Animal Center,
National Applied Research Laboratories (NLAC NARL), Taiwan
Leo Wang
EBI Paul Flicek, Helen Parkinson
Czech centre for Phenogenomics, IMG Radislav Sedlacek
Funders Members
Medical Research Council Nathan Richardson, Claire Newland
National Institutes of Health Colin Fletcher, Jim Battey, Jane Peterson, Eric Green, Mark Guyer
Wellcome Trust Michael Dunn, Tom Collins
Genome Canada Kate Swan
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Eric Marcotte
European Commission (non-voting observer) Irene Norstedt
Executive Director Mark Moore
* chair of committee
Voting member
Non-voting member


  1. Institutional Membership
    1. A track record of experience in high throughput phenotyping and/or large-scale knockout mouse production, allied to the physical resources to undertake such activities, or expertise in specialized (“Secondary level”) phenotyping that would add value to the resource and database.
    2. For phenotyping centres, a commitment to phenotype not less than 50 lines per year, preferably rising to 100 lines per year within the lifetime of Phase I of the IMPC programme.
    3. For production centres, a commitment to generate not less than 50 lines per year, with the ability to distribute live mice, embryos, and sperm, preferably rising to 100 lines per year within the lifetime of Phase I of the IMPC programme.
    4. For Secondary level phenotyping groups, a commitment to share data with the IMPC as a whole, and deposit the data into the IMPC Database in a timely fashion.
    5. Agreement to work within the framework of the consortium, including commonly agreed phenotyping pipelines and IT structures.
    6. Demonstrable ability to provide the IT infrastructure for the local capture of production and/or phenotyping data and its upload to the IMPC data coordination centre(s).
    7. Agreement to the full release of data to data coordination centres according to IMPC agreed procedures and timelines.
    8. Agreement of production centers to provide the community access to live mice, embryos and sperm as soon as possible without intended hold backs, subject to legal or MTA restrictions.
    9. Payment of the membership fee.
  2. Funders’ Membership
    1. To commit to ensure their best endeavours to provide funding support to the IMPC programme commensurate with their institutions providing the requisite commitments to participation in the programme.
    2. To work to facilitate smooth and harmonious integration of the research networks recommendations and guidelines.
    3. To work to help communicate the goals and milestones of the IMPC to the wider scientific community.
    4. Payment of the membership fee.
  3. Membership Fee
    1. The membership fee is currently 50,000 GBP.
    2. The fee may be paid, in full or in part, with in-kind contributions, or adjusted in the future subject to approval of 75% of the Steering Committee.
    3. The membership fee shall be collected by the IMPC Administering Member and will require a separate letter of agreement to facilitate the process.
    4. The membership fee is non-refundable.
  4. Non-Voting Members and Observers
    1. The Steering Committee may request individuals or institutional representatives with special skills or information to join the Steering Committee meetings on an as needed basis, or for extended periods, subject to approval of the voting membership.
    2. Such participants will not have voting rights and may be asked to not participate in all aspects of the IMPC management and meeting discussions.